People

Address: 325 Learning & Environmental Sciences, 1954 Buford Ave, St. Paul, MN 55108
Email: ione@umn.edu
Phone: 612-626-9553
Fax: 612-626-5555

Jump to: Administrative Staff | Program Contacts | Fellows & Researchers | Resident Fellows

Administrative Staff

Portrait: Lewis Gilbert
Lewis Gilbert

Interim Director/COO
legilber@umn.edu
612-625-0897
Portrait: Jan Gerstenberger
Jan Gerstenberger

Director of Partnerships & Development
jgersten@umn.edu
612-624-2675
Portrait: April Snyder
April Snyder

Associate Administrator
deink001@umn.edu
612-626-1216
Portrait: Jake Grafenstein
Jake Grafenstein

Digital Content and IT Professional
grafe014@umn.edu
612-625-3516
Portrait: Kimberly Long
Kimberly Long

Events Coordinator and Program Associate
longx296@umn.edu
612-626-9553
Portrait: Sarah Blecher
Sarah Belcher

Administrative Assistant
belc0017@umn.edu
Portrait: Cassedy Coleman
Cassedy Coleman

IT Service Desk Technician
ionehelp@umn.edu
Portrait: Alyssa Johnson
Alyssa Johnson

Undergrad Administrative Assistant
ionefdsk@umn.edu
Portrait: Laura Kuehn
Laura Kuehn

Administrative Assistant
kuehn205@umn.edu

Communications Staff

Portrait: Todd Reubold
Todd Reubold

Director of Communications/Media Relations
treubold@umn.edu
@treubold
612-624-6140
Portrait: David Doody
David Doody

Senior Editor/Writer
dldoody@umn.edu
612-626-1211
Portrait: Monique Dubos
Monique Dubos

Writer/Editor
mdubos@umn.edu
612-626-1202
Portrait: Mary Hoff
Mary Hoff

Senior Editor/Writer
maryhoff@umn.edu
612-626-2670
Portrait: Sarah Karnas.
Sarah Karnas

Creative Director
schmitz@umn.edu
612-624-6566
Portrait: Anya Moucha
Anya Moucha

Communications Assistant
mouch009@umn.edu

Program Contacts

Acara Impact Entrepreneurship Program

Portrait: Fred Rose
Fred Rose

Co-director
rosex122@umn.edu
612-624-2143
Portrait: Brian Bell
Brian Bell

Assistant Director
bell0384@umn.edu
612-624-9855

Boreas Leadership Program

Portrait: Kate Knuth
Kate Knuth

Director
knut0236@umn.edu
612-624-8359

Energy Transition Lab

Portrait: Ellen Anderson
Ellen Anderson

Executive Director
ellena@umn.edu
612-625-1981
Portrait: Hari Osofsky
Hari Osofsky

Faculty Director
hosofsky@umn.edu
612-625-1038

Ensia

Portrait: Todd Reubold
Todd Reubold

Director and Founding Editor
treubold@umn.edu
@treubold
612-624-6140
Portrait: David Doody
David Doody

Senior Editor
dldoody@umn.edu
612-626-1211
Portrait: Mary Hoff
Mary Hoff

Editor in Chief
maryhoff@umn.edu
612-626-2670
Portrait: Sarah Karnas.
Sarah Karnas

Creative Director
schmitz@umn.edu
612-624-6566

Global Landscapes Initiative (GLI)

Portrait: Paul West
Paul West

Co-Director and Lead Scientist
pcwest@umn.edu
Portrait: James Gerber
James Gerber

Co-Director and Lead Scientist
jsgerber@umn.edu
@jsgerb
612-624-2639
Portrait: Kimberly Carlson.
Kimberly Carlson

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
carlsonk@umn.edu
612-624-2450
Portrait: Barrett Colombo
Barrett Colombo

Lead Education & Communications Platform Development
colom008@umn.edu
612-626-2167
Portrait: Emily Dombeck
Emily Dombeck

Junior Scientist
edombeck@umn.edu
612-626-3749
Portrait: Graham MacDonald
Graham MacDonald

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
gmacdona@umn.edu
612-626-4945
Portrait: Christine O'Connell
Christine O’Connell

Graduate Research Assistant
oconn568@umn.edu
Portrait: Deepak Ray
Deepak Ray

Senior Scientist
dray@umn.edu
612-626-4029
Portrait: Alex Reich
Alex Reich

Graduate Research Assistant
areich@umn.edu
Portrait: Andrew Urevig
Andrew Urevig

Communications Assistant
urevi007@umn.edu

Global Water Initiative

Portrait: Kate Brauman
Kate Brauman

Lead Scientist
Global Water Initiative
kbrauman@umn.edu
612-626-9502
Portrait: Rachel Brown
Rachel Brown

Research Assistant
brow3543@umn.edu

Initiative for Renewable Energy & the Environment (IREE)

Natural Capital Project

Portrait: Stephen Polasky
Stephen Polasky

Project Lead
polasky@umn.edu
612-625-9213
Portrait: Bonnie Keeler
Bonnie Keeler

Lead Scientist
keel0041@umn.edu
612-626-2120
Portrait: Marie Donahue
Marie Donahue

Assistant Scientist
dona0212@umn.edu
Portrait: Peter Hawthorne
Peter Hawthorne
Ecologist
hawt0010@umn.edu
Portrait: Ryan Noe
Ryan Noe

Assistant Scientist
rrnoe@umn.ed

NorthStar Initiative for Sustainable Enterprise (NiSE)

Portrait: Tim Smith
Tim Smith

Director
smith463@umn.edu
612-624-2648
Portrait: Jennifer Schmitt
Jennifer Schmitt

Lead Scientist
jorg0206@umn.edu
612-626-3637
Portrait: Luyi Chen
Luyi Chen

Graduate Student Assistant
chen3461@umn.edu
Portrait: Andrew Goodkind
Andrew Goodkind

Postdoctoral Associate
goodk015@umn.edu
Portrait: Taegon Kim
Taegon Kim

Postdoctoral Associate
taegon@umn.edu
Portrait: Mo Li
Mo Li

Research Fellow
lixx1407@umn.edu
612-626-6818
Portrait: Rylie Pelton
Rylie Pelton

Research Assistant
olso4235@umn.edu
612-626-0739
Portrait: Lloyd Rivera
Lloyd Rivera

Graduate Student Assistant
river370@umn.edu

Sustainability Education

Portrait: Beth Mercer-Taylor
Beth Mercer-Taylor

Coordinator
bethmt@umn.edu
612-624-9430
Portrait: Barrett Colombo
Barrett Colombo

Sustainability Education Curriculum Developer
colom008@umn.edu
612-626-2167
Portrait: Kate Flick
Kate Flick

Research Assistant
flick063@umn.edu
Portrait: Madeline Giefer
Madeline Giefer
Undergrad Student Assistant
giefe025@umn.edu
Portrait: Liz Hoke
Liz Hoke

Communications Assistant
hokex024@umn.edu
Portrait: Lauren McCarthy
Lauren McCarthy

Sustainability Minor Adviser
lfmccart@umn.edu
612-626-5602
Portrait: Nathan Michielson
Nathan Michielson

Undergrad Employee
michi013@umn.edu
612-626-5067

Fellows & Researchers

Portrait: Ellison Carter
Ellison Carter
Postdoctoral Fellow
Energy, Air Pollution & Health
emcarter@umn.edu
612-626-1228
Portrait: Sabine Engel
Sabine Engel

Project Lead
Regional Economies and Renewable Energy Policy Exchange with Germany
engel056@umn.edu
Portrait: Habacuc Flores-Moreno
Habacuc Flores-Moreno
Post-Doctoral Associate
The Nutrient Network
hfloresm@umn.edu
Portrait: Sarah Hobbie
Sarah Hobbie

Project Lead
Improving Urban Vegetation for Water Quality
shobbie@umn.edu
Portrait: Julian Marshall
Julian Marshall

Project Lead
Household Stove Change-Out
julian@umn.edu
Portrait: Hari Osofsky
Hari Osofsky

Faculty Director
Energy Transition Lab
hosofsky@umn.edu
Portrait: Katey Pelican
Katey Pelican

Project Lead
Global Health & the Environment in Africa
pelicank@umn.edu
Portrait: Peter Reich
Peter Reich

Project Lead
Boreal Forest/Plant Data Synthesis
preich@umn.edu
Portrait: William Kolby Smith
William Kolby Smith

Post-Doctoral Scholar
Assessing Sustainable Agriculture/Forestry Commodity Standards
wksmith@umn.edu

 

Resident Fellows

Bill Arnold (2012)
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

Arindam Banerjee (2011)
Computer Science & Engineering

Jonee Kulman Brigham (2014)
College of Design

Erik Thorson Brown (2014)
Large Lakes Observatory, University of Minnesota Duluth

Valentine Cadieux (2014)
College of Liberal Arts

John Carmody (2012)
Center for Sustainable Building Research

Jeannine Cavender-Bares (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Matteo Convertino (2014)
School of Public Health

Meggan Craft (2011)
Veterinary Population Medicine

Aaron Doering (2010)
Curriculum & Instruction

Sherry Enzler (2011)
Forest Resources

Jacques C. Finlay (2012)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

James Forester (2012)
Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou (2010)
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

John S. Gulliver (2012)
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

Patrick Hamilton (2010)
Global Change Initiatives

Randel Hanson (2012)
Environmental Studies & Geography

Tian He (2014)
College of Science & Engineering

George Heimpel (2011)
Entomology

Jason Hill (2010)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering

Marc Hillmyer (2011)
Chemistry

Sarah Hobbie (2011)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

I. Volkan Isler (2010)
Computer Science

Tom Johnson (2011)
Large Lakes Observatory

Nick Jordan (2011)
Agronomy & Plant Genomics

Mihailo Jovanovic (2012)
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Alexandra Klass (2011)
Law School

Clarence Lehman (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Tracy Lipke-Perry (2012)
Music, University of Minnesota, Duluth

Steven Manson (2010)
Geography

Julian Marshall (2010)
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

Dylan Millet
Soil, Water & Climate

Kathryn A. Milun (2014)
College of Sociology & Anthropology, UMD

Rebecca Montgomery (2012)
Forest Resources

Laura Musacchio (2012)
Landscape Architecture

Paige Novak (2011)
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

Ruth Okediji (2012)
Law School

Hari Osofsky (2012)
Law School

Mark Pedelty (2010)
Journalism & Mass Comm.

Katey Pelican (2010)
Veterinary Population Medicine

R. Lee Penn (2012)
Chemistry

Stephen Polasky (2010)
Applied Economics

Jennifer Powers (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Gurumurthy Ramachandran (2012)
Environmental Health Sciences

Anu Ramaswami
Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Peter Reich (2010)
Forest Ecology

Gillian Roehrig (2012)
STEM Education Center

C. Ford Runge (2011)
Applied Economics

Martin Saar (2012)
Earth Sciences

Jonathan Schilling (2011)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering

Peter Seiler (2012)
Aerospace Engineering & Mechanics

Shashi Shekhar (2012)
Computer Science & Engineering

Carissa Schively Slotterback (2010)
Urban & Regional Planning

Randy Singer (2010)
Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences

Tim Smith (2010)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Eng.

Scott St. George (2012)
Geography

Robert W. Sterner (2014)
College of Biological Sciences

G. David Tilman (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Dominic Travis (2012)
Epidemiology

Lawrence Wackett (2012)
BioTechnology

Jian-Ping Wang (2012)
Electrical & Computer Engineering

George Weiblen (2011)
Plant Biology

Elizabeth Wilson (2011)
Humphrey School of Public Affairs