People

Address: 325 Learning & Environmental Sciences, 1954 Buford Ave, St. Paul, MN 55108
Email: ione@umn.edu
Phone: 612-626-9553
Fax: 612-626-5555

Jump to: Administrative Staff | Program Contacts | Fellows & Researchers | Resident Fellows

Administrative Staff

Portrait: Lewis Gilbert
Lewis Gilbert

Managing Director/COO
legilber@umn.edu
612-625-0897
Portrait: Jan Gerstenberger
Jan Gerstenberger

Director of Partnerships & Development
jgersten@umn.edu
612-624-2675
Portrait: April Snyder
April Snyder

Associate Administrator
deink001@umn.edu
612-626-1216
Portrait: Molly Buss
Molly Buss

Event & Special Projects Coordinator
bussx057@umn.edu
@mollymbuss
612-626-9553
Portrait: Mary Swenson
Mary Swenson

Cluster Finance Manager
swens051@umn.edu
612-625-3483
Portrait: Jake Grafenstein
Jake Grafenstein

Digital Content and IT Professional
grafe014@umn.edu
612-625-3516
Portrait: Jennifer Hager
Jennifer Hager

Undergrad Administrative Assistant
ionefdsk@umn.edu
Portrait: Alyssa Johnson
Alyssa Johnson

Undergrad Administrative Assistant
ionefdsk@umn.edu

Communications Staff

Portrait: Todd Reubold
Todd Reubold

Director of Communications
treubold@umn.edu
@treubold
612-624-6140
Portrait: David Doody
David Doody

Senior Editor/Writer
dldoody@umn.edu
612-626-1211
Portrait: Monique Dubos
Monique Dubos

Communications Associate
dubos002@umn.edu
612-626-1202
Portrait: Mary Hoff
Mary Hoff

Senior Editor/Writer
maryhoff@umn.edu
612-626-2670
Portrait: Sarah Karnas.
Sarah Karnas

Creative Director
schmitz@umn.edu
612-624-6566

Program Contacts

Acara Social Entrepreneurship Program

Portrait: Fred Rose
Fred Rose

Director
rosex122@umn.edu
612-624-2143
Portrait: Brian Bell
Brian Bell

Assistant Director
bell0384@umn.edu
612-624-9855

Boreas Leadership Program

Portrait: Kate Knuth
Kate Knuth

Director
knut0236@umn.edu
612-624-8359

Global Landscapes Initiative (GLI)

Portrait: Paul West
Paul West

Co-Director & Chief Collaboration Officer
pcwest@umn.edu
Portrait: Jamie Gerber
Jamie Gerber

Co-Director, Chief Science Officer & Program Coordinator
jsgerber@umn.edu
612-624-2639
Portrait: Kate Brauman
Kate Brauman

Lead Scientist
Global Water Initiative
kbrauman@umn.edu
612-626-9502
Portrait: Kimberly Carlson.
Kimberly Carlson

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
carlsonk@umn.edu
612-624-2450
Portrait: Barrett Colombo
Barrett Colombo

Lead
Education & Communications Platform Development
colom008@umn.edu
612-626-2167
Portrait: Emily Dombeck
Emily Dombeck

Junior Scientist
edombeck@umn.edu
612-626-3749
Portrait: Graham MacDonald
Graham MacDonald

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
gmacdona@umn.edu
612-626-4945
Portrait: Moana Mcclellan
Moana McClellan

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
moana@umn.edu
612-26-4058
Portrait: Christine O'Connell
Christine O’Connell

Graduate Research Assistant
oconn568@umn.edu
Portrait: Deepak Ray
Deepak Ray

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
dray@umn.edu
612-626-4029
Portrait: Alex Reich
Alex Reich

Graduate Research Assistant
areich@umn.edu

Initiative for Renewable Energy & the Environment (IREE)

Natural Capital Project

Portrait: Stephen Polasky
Stephen Polasky

Project Lead
polasky@umn.edu
612-625-9213
Portrait: Bonnie Keeler
Bonnie Keeler

Lead Scientist
keel0041@umn.edu
612-626-2120
Portrait: Peter Hawthorne
Peter Hawthorne
Ecologist
hawt0010@umn.edu
Portrait: Jessi Wyatt
Jessi Wyatt

Undergraduate Researcher
wyatt100@umn.edu

 

NorthStar Initiative for Sustainable Enterprise (NiSE)

Portrait: Tim Smith
Tim Smith

Director
smith463@umn.edu
612-624-2648
Portrait: Luyi Chen
Luyi Chen

Graduate Student Assistant
chen3461@umn.edu
Portrait: Vincent Dzik
Vincent Dzik

Undergrad Research Assistant
dzikx008@umn.edu
Portrait: Mo Li
Mo Li

Research Fellow
lixx1407@umn.edu
612-626-6818
Portrait: Rylie Pelton
Rylie Pelton

Research Assistant
olso4235@umn.edu
612-626-0739
Portrait: Nel Pilgrim-Rukavina
Nel Pilgrim-Rukavina

Undergrad Research Assistant
pilgr028@umn.edu
Portrait: Lloyd Rivera
Lloyd Rivera

Graduate Student Assistant
river370@umn.edu
Portrait: Jennifer Schmitt
Jennifer Schmitt

Research Fellow
jorg0206@umn.edu
612-626-3637

Sustainability Education

Portrait: Beth Mercer-Taylor
Beth Mercer-Taylor

Coordinator
bethmt@umn.edu
612-624-9430
Portrait: Barrett Colombo
Barrett Colombo

Sustainability Education Curriculum Developer
colom008@umn.edu
612-626-2167
Portrait: Madeline Giefer
Madeline Giefer
Undergrad Student Assistant
giefe025@umn.edu
Portrait: Liz Hoke
Liz Hoke

Communications Assistant
hokex024@umn.edu
Portrait: Lauren McCarthy
Lauren McCarthy

Sustainability Minor Adviser
lfmccart@umn.edu
612-626-5602
Portrait: Nathan Michielson
Nathan Michielson

Undergrad Employee
michi013@umn.edu
612-626-5067
Portrait: Jake Nokovic
Jake Nokovic

Communications Assistant
nokov002@umn.edu

Fellows & Researchers

Portrait: Ellison Carter
Ellison Carter
Postdoctoral Fellow
Energy, Air Pollution & Health
emcarter@umn.edu
612-626-1228
Portrait: Sabine Engel
Sabine Engel

Project Lead
Promoting German & European Studies in North America
engel056@umn.edu
Portrait: Habacuc Flores-Moreno
Habacuc Flores-Moreno
Post-Doctoral Associate
The Nutrient Network
hfloresm@umn.edu
Portrait: Sarah Hobbie
Sarah Hobbie

Project Lead
Improving Urban Vegetation for Water Quality
shobbie@umn.edu
Portrait: Julian Marshall
Julian Marshall

Project Lead
Household Stove Change-Out
julian@umn.edu
Portrait: Hari Osofsky
Hari Osofsky

Faculty Director
Energy Transition Lab
hosofsky@umn.edu
Portrait: Katey Pelican
Katey Pelican

Project Lead
Global Health & the Environment in Africa
pelicank@umn.edu
Portrait: Peter Reich
Peter Reich

Project Lead
Boreal Forest/Plant Data Synthesis
preich@umn.edu

Resident Fellows

Bill Arnold (2012)
Civil Engineering

Arindam Banerjee (2011)
Computer Science & Engineering

Jonee Kulman Brigham (2014)
College of Design

Erik Thorson Brown (2014)
Large Lakes Observatory, University of Minnesota Duluth

Valentine Cadieux (2014)
College of Liberal Arts

John Carmody (2012)
Center for Sustainable Building Research

Jeannine Cavender-Bares (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Matteo Convertino (2014)
School of Public Health

Meggan Craft (2011)
Veterinary Population Medicine

Aaron Doering (2010)
Curriculum & Instruction

Sherry Enzler (2011)
Forest Resources

Jacques C. Finlay (2012)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

James Forester (2012)
Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou (2010)
Civil Engineering

John S. Gulliver (2012)
Civil Engineering

Patrick Hamilton (2010)
Global Change Initiatives

Randel Hanson (2012)
Environmental Studies & Geography

Tian He (2014)
College of Science & Engineering

George Heimpel (2011)
Entomology

Jason Hill (2010)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering

Marc Hillmyer (2011)
Chemistry

Sarah Hobbie (2011)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

I. Volkan Isler (2010)
Computer Science

Tom Johnson (2011)
Large Lakes Observatory

Nick Jordan (2011)
Agronomy & Plant Genomics

Mihailo Jovanovic (2012)
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Alexandra Klass (2011)
Law School

Clarence Lehman (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Tracy Lipke-Perry (2012)
Music, University of Minnesota, Duluth

Steven Manson (2010)
Geography

Julian Marshall (2010)
Civil Engineering

Dylan Millet
Soil, Water & Climate

Kathryn A. Milun (2014)
College of Sociology & Anthropology, UMD

Rebecca Montgomery (2012)
Forest Resources

Laura Musacchio (2012)
Landscape Architecture

Paige Novak (2011)
Civil Engineering

Ruth Okediji (2012)
Law School

Hari Osofsky (2012)
Law School

Mark Pedelty (2010)
Journalism & Mass Comm.

Katey Pelican (2010)
Veterinary Population Medicine

R. Lee Penn (2012)
Chemistry

Stephen Polasky (2010)
Applied Economics

Jennifer Powers (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Gurumurthy Ramachandran (2012)
Environmental Health Sciences

Anu Ramaswami
Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Peter Reich (2010)
Forest Ecology

Kim Robien (2012)
Epidemiology & Community Health

Gillian Roehrig (2012)
STEM Education Center

C. Ford Runge (2011)
Applied Economics

Martin Saar (2012)
Earth Sciences

Jonathan Schilling (2011)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering

Peter Seiler (2012)
Aerospace Engineering & Mechanics

Shashi Shekhar (2012)
Computer Science & Engineering

Carissa Schively Slotterback (2010)
Urban & Regional Planning

Randy Singer (2010)
Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences

Tim Smith (2010)
Bioproducts & Biosystems Eng.

Scott St. George (2012)
Geography

Robert W. Sterner (2014)
College of Biological Sciences

G. David Tilman (2010)
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

Dominic Travis (2012)
Epidemiology

Lawrence Wackett (2012)
BioTechnology

Jian-Ping Wang (2012)
Electrical & Computer Engineering

George Weiblen (2011)
Plant Biology

Elizabeth Wilson (2011)
Humphrey School of Public Affairs