Curriculum Committee

The Sustainability Studies Minor’s unique curriculum is made possible by a diverse faculty committee, featuring professors and program directors from a range of academic departments.

  • Christine Baeumler, Associate Professor, Art Department (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Julia Frost Nerbonne, Adjunct Assistant Professor, SUST 4004 Sustainable Communities
  • Jason Hill, Professor, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences)
  • Kimberly Byrd, Adjunct Professor, SUST 3003 Sustainable People, Sustainable Planet
  • Lee Penn, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Chemistry (College of Science and Engineering)
  • Karen Lutsky, Assistant Professor, Landscape Architecture (College of Design)
  • Deena Wassenberg, Teaching Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Biology (College of Biological Sciences)

Many faculty across colleges and disciplines across the University develop and teach sustainability-related curriculum.

Faculty Network Members

  • Todd Arnold, Professor, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences)
  • Jeffrey Broadbent, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
  • William Durfee, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Science and Engineering
  • Mary Guzowski, Professor, School of Architecture (College of Design)
  • Sarah Hobbie, Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior (College of Biological Sciences)
  • Nick Jordan, Professor, Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences)
  • Katherine Klink, Associate Professor, Department of Geography, Environment and Society (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Alfred Marcus, Professor, Department of Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship (Carlson School of Management)
  • Kristen Nelson, Professor, Department of Forest Resources
  • Paige Novak, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering
  • David Pitt, Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture (College of Design)
  • Dan Philippon, Associate Professor, Department of English (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Steve Polasky, Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics
  • Steve Roos, Research Fellow, Department of Landscape Architecture
  • Lanny Schmidt, Regents Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science
  • Ingrid Schneider, Professor, Department of Forest Resources (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences)
  • Rachel Schurman, Professor, Department of Sociology (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Eric Sheppard, Regents Professor, Department of Geography (College of Liberal Arts)
  • Virajita Singh, Research Fellow, School of Architecture (College of Design)
  • Tim Smith, Professor, Department of Bioproducts & Bioengineering (College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences)
  • Connie Wanberg, Professor, Department of Human Resources & Industrial Relations (Carlson School of Management)