HomeIonE AffiliateWelcoming the 2018 class of IonE Affiliates

Welcoming the 2018 class of IonE Affiliates

Complex challenges can’t be solved working in silos; they require collaboration among disciplines and sectors – and demand a diversity of perspectives. For this reason, the Institute on the Environment’s network of IonE Affiliates, made up of scholars, educators, and sustainability leaders, is a cornerstone of the Institute. Each year we welcome a new class of these accomplished individuals to our community, where we hope their scholarship and professional pursuits flourish, as we push forward our collective impact.

This year, IonE is proud to welcome 41 new members to our Affiliate ranks: 25 Fellows, established in their careers, having demonstrated excellence in one or more subject areas related to the environment and sustainability; 11 Associates, early- and mid-career researchers and instructors at the University of Minnesota who are building interdisciplinary careers; and five Educators, who have a special interest in pedagogy and curriculum development.

This year’s class of Affiliates hails from multiple U of M campuses, as well as an array of institutions across the state of Minnesota and beyond. Their work is as far-reaching as their geographic dispersal, and we have no doubt the same will be true of their contributions to our community.

Please join us in congratulating the 2018-19 IonE Affiliates:

IonE Fellows

Amy Myrbo, LacCore/CDSCO (Continental Scientific Drilling Coordination Office), UMTC

Anna Henderson, Water Advisor, Office of Governor Mark Dayton

Bonnie Keeler, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, UMTC

Briana Gross, Department of Biology, Swenson College of Science and Engineering, UMD

Cathy Jordan, Department of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota Medical School, and the Extension Center for Community Vitality

Emilie Snell-Rood, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior, College of Biological Sciences (CBS), UMTC

Emily Kalnicky, Evaluation and Research Specialist, Minnesota Zoo

Eric Holthaus, science journalist

Holly Menninger, Director of Public Engagement and Science Learning, Bell Museum

James Gerber, Co-Director and Lead Scientist, IonE Global Landscapes Initiative

Joseph Bump, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences (CFANS), UMTC

Joshua Feinberg, Department of Earth Sciences, College of Science and Engineering (CSE), UMTC

Julie Grossman, Department of Horticultural Science, CFANS, UMN Twin Cities

Kate Brauman, Lead Scientist, IonE Global Water Initiative

Kathy Draeger, Statewide Director, Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships, University of Minnesota Extension

Kimberley Todd, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts, UMTC

Laurie Fink, Vice President of Science, Science Museum of Minnesota

LeRoy Paddock, Associate Dean for Environmental Law Studies and Professorial Lecturer in Law, George Washington University

Lian Shen, Director, St. Anthony Falls Laboratory, and Department of Mechanical Engineering, CSE, UMTC

Lissa Pawlisch, Director, Clean Energy Resource Teams (CERTs), Regional Sustainable Development Partnerships, University of Minnesota Extension

Russ Holmes, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, CSE, UMTC

Shailey Prasad, Executive Director, Center for Global Health and Social Responsibility, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center

Steve Kelley, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, UMTC

Teddie Potter, University of Minnesota School of Nursing

Valery Forbes, Dean, College of Biological Sciences, UMTC


IonE Associates

Afton Clarke-Sather, Department of Geography, Urban, Environment & Sustainability, College of Liberal Arts, UMD

Gene-Hua Crystal Ng, Department of Earth Sciences, CSE, UMTC

Jacob Mans, School of Architecture, College of Design, UMTC

Joshua Barnett, Department of Communication, College of Liberal Arts, UMN Duluth

Katie Schreiner, Swenson College of Science and Engineering, Large Lakes Observatory, UMN Duluth

Monica Moses Haller, Department of Art, College of Liberal Arts, UMTC

Nat Springer, Research Economist, Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota

Noelle Noyes, Veterinary Population Medicine Department, College of Veterinary Medicine, UMTC

Pete Marchetto, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering, CFANS and CSE, UMTC

Qi Zhang, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, CSE, UMTC

Xue Feng, Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering, CSE, UMTC


IonE Educators

David Wilsey, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, UMTC

Dominic Travis, Ecosystem Health, Department of Veterinary Population Medicine, College of Veterinary Medicine, UMTC, and IonE Fellow

Mindy Granley, Director, Office of Sustainability, UMD

Scott Spicer, Media Outreach & Learning Spaces Librarian, University of Minnesota Libraries, UMTC

Shanda Demorest, University of Minnesota School of Nursing

Thomas Beery, Resiliency Specialist, University of Minnesota Sea Grant, Duluth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *